If you’re young and independent, and you don’t have many assets such as a house or investments, bankruptcy can be a smart option for a fresh start if you have thousands of dollars in debt. The laws on bankruptcy are created to give people a second chance, so there should be no shame if you have to declare. Some people face either 10 to 15 years of repaying the debt or a clean slate in which to build savings and balance a budget.
Consult an Expert
Because bankruptcy is a legal proceeding, you will need a lawyer. If you’re struggling to make ends meet, you may need bankruptcy attorney Howard County MD. When you consult a legal expert, you will get a clear answer on if this option is possible. If your debt is largely due to high credit card balances and you rent an apartment, a Chapter 7 bankruptcy may be the way to go.
Once you meet with an attorney, you’ll have to provide a detailed list of all your credit card debt; immediately, you should stop receiving calls from creditors and collection agencies looking for payment. You’ll need to provide a list of all your expenses, your assets and your income. Your jewelry and any valuable collections count as assets. You’ll need to provide a snapshot of everything you own and what you make.
Avoid Large Purchases
It may be tempting to buy a nice handbag or furniture before your bankruptcy is finalized, but that is not a wise decision at all. You should also not wear any family heirlooms to court, as even an expensive gift can be considered an asset. Creditors may challenge a bankruptcy and cry fraud if you purchase something that is several hundred dollars within a few months of the court date.
Sometimes declaring bankruptcy is your best option for financial freedom.
Many states require businesses to purchase workers’ compensation insurance as soon as they hire their first employee. However, laws vary by state and there are some exemptions.
Requirements and Exemptions
You need to make sure you are in compliance with the workers’ compensation laws in all of the states your business operates in. Florida law requires your business to purchase workers’ compensation insurance Maitland FL, if your business has more than four employees. Coverage is required for part-time employees, but not for independent contractors.
Sole proprietors and partners are excluded from the requirement, but can still choose to purchase coverage. Construction businesses must purchase coverage for all employees and contractors, even if they only have one employee. However, construction companies can exempt up to three corporate officers, if those officers own at least 10% of the company. They must also confirm that any subcontractors they employ are providing coverage for their own employees. Agriculture companies are required to purchase coverage if they have six or more year-round employees or 12 or more seasonal workers if those workers are employed for more than 30 days.
Florida mandates that self-employed workers in the construction industry purchase workers’ compensation coverage. Most other self-employed people are not required to purchase coverage unless they employ four or more employees, but it may be a good idea to purchase coverage for some individuals.
Penalties for Non-compliance
Businesses that do not comply with Florida workers’ compensation laws may be issued a stop-work order and be required to pay a penalty. The penalty is usually double the amount the employer would have paid in premiums for the previous two-years. Failure to comply with a stop-work order can result in criminal charges.
To avoid potential liability and penalties, it is important to comply with Florida workers’ compensation laws. Your insurance professional should be able to help you ensure you are compliant.
Investing in a franchise can be a great way to launch your business quickly, but it requires a fair amount of up front capital. Often, the up front costs are the barrier to access for investors, but those costs allow you to buy into an established brand, bypassing the time and money it takes to invest in building one from scratch. That’s usually a worthwhile investment, since brand recognition and demand are such an important part of early success. When you consider the intricacies of a financing agreement for a large investment like a franchise business on top of the complexity of the franchise contract itself, there are a lot of reasons to bring in a professional who can provide you with reasonable legal advice as you weigh your options.
1. Get Help Parsing All Your Contract Requirements and Benefits
Legal language is difficult for the average entrepreneur to fully interpret because it is made to be precise, and that precision requires the use of terms of art only known to those with legal training or independent research in the topic. Hiring a lawyer is usually cheaper and faster than learning everything you need to know about contract language from scratch, so you can be sure you are fully informed before entering into a franchise agreement. That’s the biggest benefit of having a franchise contract lawyer on your team.
2. Negotiate Clarifications To Vague Contract Points
You might think that franchise agreements are non-negotiable, especially for brands that can pick and choose which applications they accept. While most of the terms are the same for each new investor, unclear draft language can be an issue, and a lawyer is trained to find it and to request rephrased terms that are easier to parse without ambiguity. This is very important if you’re to avoid conflicts down the road. For the points of the contract that are negotiable, a lawyer is best positioned to negotiate on your behalf.
3. Locate Hidden Penalties and Fees in Financing Agreements
Franchise financing agreements are their own specialized form of lending, and having a lawyer who focuses on your business model and the law around it can help you find your best deal when you need working capital. That could save you money in the long run.
When you’re in a domestic violence situation, it can be difficult to get out. Once you do, however, you are owed compensation or the injuries and suffering that you went through at the hands of your abuser. To file a lawsuit, however, can be daunting, especially when you’re dealing with an abusive individual. When it comes to domestic violence, here is why you need a lawyer to represent you.
Lawyers Can Help You Obtain a Restraining Order
If you are dealing with a domestic abuser, you may need a restraining order. It is important, when filing for a restraining order, that you follow all the proper instructions, file the right documents to ensure that your order is valid. A domestic abuse lawyer Hernando County FL residents use can make sure that you receive your order, can help gather the evidence necessary to file one also.
Lawyers Can Represent You
One of the biggest sources of anxiety for those who have suffered abuse at the hands of a loved one. To face your abuser in court can be one of the most difficult things that you have to do. When you have a lawyer, he or she will be your advocate if the case goes to trial. Your lawyer will face the other side so that you do not have to confront anyone face to face. He or she will handle your documents and deal with the other side throughout the process.
If you suffered abuse at the hands of anyone, you deserve to receive compensation for what he or she did to you. You can cover the costs of any expenses or medical bills that your injuries caused you to suffer. While you can file a lawsuit on your own, it is always safer to have a lawyer to advocate for you and to carry the burden.
Workers’ compensation insurance can be a lifeline for anyone with mounting bills caused by a job-related injury. These are answers to some common questions about this vital type of insurance.
What Does Workers’ Compensation Cover?
This insurance covers any injury you might sustain while performing your job, including muscle strains, bone fractures and breaks, bruises, and dismemberment. The insurance pays for medical treatment and lost wages until you can return to work.
Who Pays for Coverage?
Your employer pays the cost of workers’ compensation insurance in exchange for your agreement not to file a lawsuit if you experience a work-related injury. Companies may obtain insurance through a government-sponsored marketplace or directly from private insurers.
Do I Need a Lawyer?
Employers without insurance are personally liable for injuries their employees sustain while working. You may wish to contact a workers compensation attorney Oregon to initiate a lawsuit unless you can arrange a settlement directly with your employer. You may also need legal assistance if the insurer denies your claim.
Why Was My Claim Denied?
An insurer might deny your claims if your employer fails to submit the appropriate paperwork on time or if the insurer has insufficient evidence that your injury is work-related. Failure to receive a proper medical assessment is another reason for an unsuccessful claim.
Is My Employer Responsible for Someone Else’s Negligence?
Suppose your injury at work happened due to someone else’s negligence. In that case, you could still file a workers’ compensation claim with your employer’s insurer or, you may choose to file a civil lawsuit directly against the individual or company that caused your injury. It is necessary to decide quickly to ensure you do not miss the filing deadline for a worker’s compensation claim.
If you are confused about your rights following a work-related injury, a workers’ compensation attorney can offer clear guidance
Privacy & Cookies Policy
Necessary cookies are absolutely essential for the website to function properly. This category only includes cookies that ensures basic functionalities and security features of the website. These cookies do not store any personal information.
Any cookies that may not be particularly necessary for the website to function and is used specifically to collect user personal data via analytics, ads, other embedded contents are termed as non-necessary cookies. It is mandatory to procure user consent prior to running these cookies on your website.